Book 69: Star Wars: Crosscurrent

Star Wars: CrosscurrentStar Wars: Crosscurrent, by Paul S. Kemp

Let me start by saying that I am a fan of Paul S. Kemp – I love his Forgotten Realms Erevis Cale series, and couldn’t have been happier when I heard he was going to write a Star Wars Extended Universe book. I ran out to pick up “Crosscurrent” the day it was released and devoured it in the same day.

“Crosscurrent” takes place near the end of the EU Legacy of the Force series and features Jaden Korr, a relatively obscure Jedi Knight. Jaden is suffering from uncertainty, questioning his life as a Jedi, and the role of the Jedi in the universe. When he’s sent a Force vision, Jaden feels he must journey to the place in his dream, where he’s sure he will find the answer to his uncertainty.

Also starring in “Crosscurrent” is Relin Druur, a Jedi Master fighting in the Great Hyperspace War against the Sith…a war that took place 5,000 years ago. Relin and his Padawan are shadowing a Sith ship, looking for intelligence that will tip the next battle. Kemp entwines the stories of Jaden and Relin skillfully, creating characters that you care about instantly.

One thing I really like about this book is it doesn’t have any big-names in the EU – there’s no Luke, Leia, or Han. I had no clue who was going to live or die, and I loved it. Kemp’s Jedi aren’t goody two shoes who know everything, but instead are real people, questioning their place and purpose, balancing on the fine line between light and dark. They are supported by a grimy cast of characters: two junk scavengers and an Anzat villain. I liked Khedryn and Marr, the scavengers, just as much as the major characters of the novel, and hope to see more of them in the future. For me, I often enjoy the minor, normal people of the Star Wars EU, and Kemp gives a great picture of some mostly normal guys trying to make a mostly legal living who are drawn into a dangerous situation by Jedi.

If you’ve been disillusioned by recent Star Wars EU novels, I encourage you to try “Crosscurrent.” Kemp brought back some of the magic that has been missing for me in recent SW novels, and I know that “Crosscurrent” will be a book I reread with enjoyment. I cannot wait for his next EU book!

5/5.

Posted on January 31, 2010, in entry, review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment