Book 24: Night World 1: Secret Vampire

Secret VampireNight World #1: Secret Vampire, by L. J. Smith

I first discovered the Night World series when I was about 10 or 11; I can’t remember which. I devoured them then; I’ve always been fascinated with the supernatural, vampires and werewolves and witches oh my. Now, rereading the series a decade later, I’m happy to find that my nostalgia for the books is valid, as I’m enjoying them this second go around as much as I did the first time.

“Secret Vampire” tells the tale of Poppy, a 16 year old who starts her summer vacation in a rather dismal way: with a diagnosis of incurable pancreatic cancer. A summer that promised to be full of music, hanging out with friends, and just generally having a good time will turn into 3 months or less of pain and agony…but luckily for Poppy, her best
friend James has a secret.

James is a vampire, part of the Night World. The Night World is a secret society of all sorts of supernatural creatures and they have two rules: 1) Never tell humans about the Night World, and 2) Never fall in love with a human. To break these rules is to risk death; but James is more than willing to risk his life, especially after he
discovers Poppy is his soulmate.

All Night World books carry a common theme: the protagonist is always a female teenager, always someone a bit different from all those around her. In each book the protagonist finds her soulmate.

I remember when I was much younger and reading these books. I wanted to *be* the protagonist. I wanted to be a part of the Night World – and who wouldn’t want to be? Smith has a gift for writing fiction that speaks to the reader, and makes the reader identify with the main characters. Poppy and James connect in a mental way when he is transforming her into a vampire, a way that makes words seem bulky and useless for real communication. Even though I know life isn’t like that, it’s still magical to see it done nicely in fiction. And still makes me wish it were possible.

The Night World series has recently been republished in a collection of omnibuses, which makes it a great pickup. The next installment in the series, which I have been waiting for for over a decade, will be published in 2010, which makes this the perfect time to leap into Smith’s secret society. “Secret Vampire” is an excellent kickoff to the series, and introduces readers to some of the particulars of the Night World, as well as to two great characters.

My only issues with this book are that it’s a little dated, due to being first published in 1996. You don’t dial in to the Internet anymore, etc.; but that’s just me nitpicking. Also it’s a somewhat quick read; I finished the entire book in about 90 minutes or less. But that also makes it a nice diversion that won’t take you a week to enjoy.

4/5.

Posted on November 29, 2009, in entry, review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment